MotoGP: Quartararo Gets One Second Penalty

The Yamaha Factory Racing rider had a tough weekend at the Argentina GP, where he struggled to be competitive on the YZR-M1.

The 2021 MotoGP champion started the Sprint Race in tenth position and was unable to do much to move up to pole position, and had to settle for advancing one level at the end of the 12-lap race.

Then, just over 3.5 hours after the end of the race, Quartararo was notified by the FIM Stewards of a one second penalty for overtaking Takaaki Nakagami under the yellow flag in the Sprint Race.

However, this did not change El Diablo’s finishing position. Steward informed Yamaha and Quartararo.

“On April 1, 2023 during the Sprint MotoGP at the Michelin Republic of Argentina Grand Prix, you had already passed rider #30 at Turn 7 when the yellow flag was shown.

Read Also:

“This is a breach of Article 1.22.2 of the FIM Grand Prix World Championship Rules. Due to several factors within the control of the race at the time, including communication with officials, and the review of various other incidents, this breach was not subject to review until the end of the race, making it impossible to post messages and signals on the Change of Position board before the end of the race.

“Therefore, in this particular situation, and pursuant to Article 1.22.2, a time penalty was imposed to reflect the estimated time lost in returning to position had race directors been able to issue a timely message.

“For the above reasons, the FIM MotoGP Commissioner’s Panel has imposed a one second penalty which will be added to your MotoGP Sprint race result at the Michelin Grand Prix of the Argentine Republic (in accordance with articles 3.2.1. and 3.3.2.3).”

Leave a Comment